Broadband study shows what it will take to bridge the digital divide in the Appalachian Region of Ohio




Waverly, Ohio A new broadband study reveals that 29% of households and 72% of populated acres in the twelve-county Ohio Valley region do not have access to FCC minimum internet speeds of 25 Mbps down/3 Mbps up.

The study, conducted on behalf of the Ohio Valley Regional Development Commission (OVRDC) and Connecting Appalachia by Reid Consulting Group, looks at broadband in Adams, Brown, Clermont, Fayette, Gallia, Highland, Jackson, Lawrence, Pike, Ross, Scioto, and Vinton counties. Each county’s profile shows where existing broadband coverage is lacking, where businesses and homes are located, how many miles of fiber-optic cable are needed to reach those businesses and homes, and the total cost and grant funding needed to install that cable.

“These profiles do more than just show there’s a problem,” said OVRDC Interim Executive Director Kim Reynolds. “More importantly, they show what it will take to fix the problem.”

The study estimates it will cost $647 million to install fiber-to-the-home throughout the region with $493 million in grant funding needed. Tom Reid, President of Reid Consulting Group, notes this is about what it would cost to build just 45 miles of highway. “The state has built a lot more than 45 miles of highway,” Reid said. “It’s time to invest in digital highways.”

Detailed county broadband profiles for all OVRDC counties are available for public download at /county-profiles/.



Adams County Brown County Clermont County
Fayette County Gallia County Highland County
Jackson County Lawrence County Pike County
Ross County  Scioto County Vinton County



Media contact:

Gina Collinsworth, OVRDC Public Information Coordinator
(740) 947-2853 or mobile (740) 821-1171

Technical questions:

Sean O’Malley, Reid Consulting Group


Ohio Valley Regional Development Commission (OVRDC) is a regional planning commission and Local Development District (LDD) dedicated to the development of Southern Ohio, providing multi-jurisdictional planning and economic development, administrative, professional and technical assistance to local governments, nonprofits, communities and citizens in a twelve-county region. More information at

# # #