Regional Transportation Planning Organization (RTPO)

In 2013, OVRDC became one of five Regional Transportation Planning Organizations (RTPOs) under the Ohio Department of Transportation (ODOT). As an RTPO, OVRDC has begun to plan a robust regional transportation system for eleven rural southern Ohio counties. The RTPO service area includes the counties of Adams, Brown, Fayette, Gallia, Highland, Jackson, Lawrence (rural area), Pike, Ross, Scioto and Vinton. We work on a wide range of projects, including data collection and analysis, project planning, grant writing, and project funding research. To see current projects and program structure, review the current fiscal year (FY) work program under the RTPO Program Resources links at the bottom of the page. 

2045 Comprehensive Transportation Plan


The Ohio Department of Transportation (ODOT) designated OVRDC and other Local Development Districts as Regional Transportation Planning Organizations (RTPO) in the effort of improving coordination and planning for robust regional transportation systems. The resulting RTPO’s Comprehensive Transportation Plan provides an opportunity to coordinate economic and community development with transportation planning efforts and to enhance regional cooperation and communication. The 2045 Comprehensive Transportation Plan is approved by ODOT and now ready for publication.

An Executive Summary of the plan is now available and can be viewed by clicking here.

Your involvement and feedback ensure that plans are a comprehensive reflection of community and neighborhood need to be addressed. Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. It really makes a difference! 

If you are looking for project funding opportunities check out our funding sources page.