Economic and Community Development Planning Assistance

Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC)

The ARC is a 13-state commission, which fosters development in the Appalachia region of the United States. Eleven of OVRDC’s 12 counties (all but Fayette) lie within the Appalachian region. ARC funding can assist with projects that meet one of four priority goal areas. As a Local Development District (LDD), OVRDC is your first stop for securing funding through the ARC.

Community Development Block Grant (CDBG)

For an administrative fee, OVRDC staff can provide subdivisions with application development assistance, environmental review, and project administration for CDBG funded projects. You can view OVRDC completed Environmental Review Records.

Ohio Public Works Commission (OPWC)

OVRDC coordinates this state grant/loan program for the District 15 Public Works Integrating Committee (all OVRDC counties except Clermont). Eligible projects include the construction, repair or replacement of roads, bridges and water and wastewater infrastructure. OVRDC is your first stop for securing funding through the OPWC.

Southern Ohio Agricultural and Community Development Foundation (SOACDF)

OVRDC’s Executive Director serves on the Regional Advisory Committee of the SOACDF, which reviews economic development projects submitted from the county committees. Staff will assist applicants with questions regarding this grant source, which requires job creation.