The Ohio Valley Regional Development Commission is a public regional planning commission established by agreement among its members pursuant to Section 713.21 of the Ohio Revised Code, as amended. Acting in the capacity of a regional economic and community development agency, OVRDC coordinates federal, state and local resources to encourage development in 12 southern Ohio counties: Adams, Brown, Clermont, Fayette, Gallia, Highland, Jackson, Lawrence, Pike, Ross, Scioto and Vinton.


Established in 1967, OVRDC serves as a Local Development District for the Appalachian Regional Commission and as an Economic Development District for the US Department of Commerce, Economic Development Administration.


OVRDC is governed by a Full Commission of 177 officials who meet semi-annually.  Members include representatives of county and local governments, social service, educational organizations, minority community, and the private sector.

Routine oversight of the OVRDC is provided by an Executive Committee with representation from local elected officials from each county, and the cities of Chillicothe and Portsmouth, private sector, a minority representative, and several members-at large that represent one of the following areas; chambers of commerce, workforce development, labor, and post secondary education. The Executive Committee’s monthly meetings are open to the public.

OVRDC receives financial support from a combination of federal and state grants and local service contracts. Member counties also pay annual fees to OVRDC, with contributions based on each county’s population.


Please see the By-Laws page for the latest OVRDC By-Laws.


Please see the Audits page for the latest OVRDC Audits.